History of Gregg County and the Gregg County Sheriff’s Office

On April 12, 1873, an act of the 13th Legislature of the State of Texas created Gregg County. The new county was carved out of a portion of the existing Upshur County. The Honorable B. W. Brown, representative from Upshur County, was active in urging the passing of the act and in naming the county Gregg after General John B. Gregg, under whom he and others living in the new county served in the Confederate Army.

The act was presented to Texas Governor Edmund J. Davis for his approval on May 1, 1873, but the act was neither signed by him nor returned to the Texas House of Representatives during the time prescribed by the Constitution of the State of Texas and, therefore, became a law without Governor Davis' signature.

Commissioners were appointed, land surveys conducted, and the county elections commenced on June 25, 1873, and continued for four days. The following county officials were elected: R. B. Levy, District and County Clerk; M. S. Durham, Sheriff; Britton Buttrell, Treasurer; A. S. Taylor, Surveyor; T. D. Campbell, Peace Justice, Precinct 2; John W. Lawrence, Peace Justice, Precinct 4; and W. P. Victory, Peace Justice, Precinct 5, Longview was chosen as the county seat over the other nominee, Awalt, by a vote of 524 to 125.

On April 30, 1874, an act of the 14th Legislature of Texas approved extending the area of Gregg County southward to take in a part of Rusk County. Gregg County's boundaries as we know them today were finally established.

There have been 20 Sheriff's in the history of Gregg County
M. S. Durham
Aug. 14, 1876 - 1880

T. D. Campbell
1881 – 1882

A. A. Killingsworth
1883 – 1890

J. C. Howard
1891 – 1902

S.R. Thrasher
1903 – 1906

G. W. Little
1907 – 1914

J. R. Garner
1915 – 1916

D. S. Meredith
1917 – 1920

J. R. Garner
1921 – 1922

A. A. King
1923 – 1924

Martin Hays
1925 – 1932

Will H. Hays
1933 – 1936

A. A. King
1937 – 1938

Will H. Hays
1939 – 1942

Lonnie Smith
1943 – 1946

Noble Crawford
1947 – 1972

Tom Welch
1973 – 1979

Mike Fetter
December 28, 1979 – 1980

Bobby S. Weaver
1981 – 2000

Maxey Cerliano
2001 - present